Best practice to work nimbly with changing codebase

Hi all,

I’m new to k8s, running a live cluster, and I’m finding it cumbersome to update the code run by my containers. I’d like to find out if there are some best practices folks use to make this more seamless.

In summary, my use case is that I have a few different containers that are run as part of jobs that get spawned dynamically (triggered by changes in a database, which represent new requests). The codebase is all Python. While the general characteristics of those jobs are constant (things like their tolerations, volume claims, namespace, labels, etc.) the code that is executed inside the jobs is subject to frequent changes (bug fixes, new features, etc.) Whenever I update the code that’s supposed to be run inside one of the containers, my current workflow is to re-build the container and re-deploy it to my registry with an incremented version number. I then have to go around and increment the version numbers used by other parts of my system when starting jobs with this particular container to match the updated one. Incrementing the version number now means I need to re-deploy updates for all the containers that spawn the recently updated job. Since these jobs are themselves triggered by code that lives inside other containers, this means one downstream change sets off a chain reaction of required upstream changes to make everything work properly.

This seems to be a common use case, so I’m wondering what the best practices are to avoid this super inconvenient workflow.