Does this init container applies changes to complete host?

Hi,
I am fairly new to kubernetes and want to build a statefulset for elasticsearch.
I found this one here during my search in web:

My question is about the init container given there:

spec:
      initContainers:
      - name: init-sysctl
        image: busybox:1.27.2
        command:
        - sysctl
        - -w
        - vm.max_map_count=262144
        securityContext:
          privileged: true

- name: es-master
        image: quay.io/pires/docker-elasticsearch-kubernetes:6.3.0
        env:
        - name: NAMESPACE

Is my understanding correct, that the init container applies the change to the host and that it is immediately valid for all pods running on that given host?

If so I should remember to use this with care because different init containers could set different values for same parameter.

Thanks,
Andreas

That is correct. I would personally avoid using that example as it requires a privileged securityContext. If you want to set the settings for the host, you could do it as a one off job, daemonset, or manage it at the host directly.

Hi @mrbobbytables, thanks for your reply.

A question about the daemonset:
With the daemonsets I got in touch with yet, they are checking if a pod is running on the nodes which are matching the selector. If I delete such a pod it gets restarted immediately.

Setting up these settings needs to be done once after starting the kubernetes node if my assumption is correct.
How can I configure a daemonset to run only once after boot / really seldom?

Is a daemonset always running in privilleged security context or is this optional as in “normal” pods?

Thanks, Andreas

It’d still run, but could just sleep and check to ensure the settings are set on an interval.