How does load balancing works

Hi there,

I tried to read the docs as much as I can but I think because I’m new to k8s, I cannot understand some words or phrases so I have some questions and there are some how tos. I’m sorry if these amateur questions bother you:(

1. Does k8s automatically manages load balancing? I mean suppose I have one master and two worker nodes. If I write a simple docker-compose.yml with below contents and I use kompose convert, then the average load of master is 8, first worker is 9 and the second worker is 3.
  2. So if I run kubectl apply -k ., does this only runs on master? Or if would run on the node having the most free resources?
  3. Now suppose I have two master and two worker nodes. Then does the answer changes?
version: 3
services:
  test:
    image: nginx

Services are described here: Service | Kubernetes

If you use LoadBalancer as the service type, I think that is managed by the Cloud Controller Manager (CCM) that was created by the Cloud Platform you’re on. They typically spin up a cloud load balancer.

1 Like

Thanks my friend.

As you said I think that is managed by the Cloud Controller Manager (CCM) that was created by the Cloud Platform you’re on, I’m not on any cloud platform. I’m currently on virtualbox on my laptop but I’ll be soon on bare metal servers.

So since I’m on my own server, does your answer change? Or in this case the Cloud Platform mean my server itself?

It’s further explained here what a CCM is: Cloud Controller Manager | Kubernetes

You probably don’t have one installed.

You can roll your own solution; perhaps following something like an operator pattern and watch for new load balancer type services; there is further documentation with boiler plate here.