Leader election utility

I have a need to do leader election in my application. I am aware that there is a leader election utility already implemented in client-go .

I am thinking of implementing following algorithm that I believe would be simpler, wouldn’t depend on clocks on nodes running pods and will detect leader failure very quickly without waiting for a “leaseExpiry”. I have to admit that I am not an expert on kubernetes internal management of resources, so my understanding could be wrong. So, I would like to know if following algorithm makes sense.

Let say there are 3 pods P1, P2 and P3 among which the leader is to be elected. User provides a “key”(e.g. “test-leader-election” ) that all pods know about upfront. (For simplicity, assume there is only one app process/container in the pod).
High level idea is that each pod will try to create a configMap named “test-leader-election” . Pod will put its own identity in a known annotation in the configMap. Pod will also set the metadata.ownerReferences field in the configMap so that GC always deletes the configMap if owner pod is deleted/disappeared.
whichever candidate pod manages to create the configMap becomes the leader and others place a watch on that configMap (using field selector on name). If any non-leader pod notices disappearance of the configMap, it tries to create the configMap to become leader.

I “think” above algorithm would provide “fencing” as well. (Assuming k8s can guarantee that above configMap can only disappear if the pod who created it disappears. But I have “heard” about corner cases where pods might become zombies still running the process and k8s not knowing about those.)

What do you guys think?

Instead of the leaseExpiry you have to wait for the GC doing it’s sweep, right?