Per-application namespaces: a de facto standard?

Hi, folks. My company is in the process of moving to k8s and there’s a separate team of people handling this k8s-specific work. I’m an application developer myself, however I’m not afraid of dipping my toes into DevOps waters. In any case, I’m new to k8s for the moment, so I’m learning it on the go.

My question relates to one of the things that I noticed in the setup of our clusters, namely that each application has its own namespace, named after the application itself. So if I have three application foo, bar and baz, the k8s setup would include three namespaces foo, bar and baz, and each app (pod+service+deployment) would reside in the eponymous namespace. I find this to be a bit cumbersome since every time I issue a command like kubectl get pods I also need to append the application name in the form of a namespace: kubectl get pods -n foo, which obviously returns the pods for a single application. I see several issues with this:

1. There’s no way to get all pods across several namespaces in a single command
  2. For each app I have in mind I need to type out its particular namespace
  3. I can’t use kubectl config set-context --current --namespace to alleviate some of the typing

Now, I asked the folks that have configured this why they did it like that, because it seemed non-standard to me (as far as my Google searching skills go). The motivation I got was a curt: “it’s the de facto standard”.