Update pods without having to rescale? (warning: complete newb here)

Asking for help? Comment out what you need so we can get more information to help you!

Cluster information:

Google Cloud Kubernetes

A devops person setup a workload in Google CLoud Platform and I’m pretty ignorant of how all this stuff works. Most I understand is there is a workload, a yaml file, and pods that have to exist to allow the application to run. It’s a web application and I know how to do IP safe-listing in the ngnix part of Google to access the application.

Where I’m stumped here is the vendor is requesting just automatically update the pods anytime they do an update from Dockerhub repository.

So in GCP Kubernetes I see it connects to Dockerhub using a credential.
What I’m not sure on is besides running these two commands, how can I get them to just auto-update?

kubectl scale deployment WebApp --replicas=0 -n WebApp
kubectl scale deployment WebApp --replicas=2 -n WebApp

The vendor said it’s fine to not worry about a bad build in the super rare even that might happen, given the nature and low severity of the application.

You have 2 main choices. The better choice is to use immutable labels on your images (i.e. not “latest”). Then you update your Deployment to use the new label. It will do a rolling update of the pods. The less ideal choice is to use the same label and either scale-to-zero and back (as you did) or change a label or something in the Deployment to trigger an update (make sure you set PullPolicy to “Always”).

@thockin
Thank you for taking time to reply. So for the new label name approach, that means anytime on Docker Hub they update the image, I still need to go manually trigger an update on the Kubernetes side? Or you mean I configure the workload to use :latest and tell the vendor to simply give new images a new name and it will automatically update on the Kubernetes side?