Communication Between Containers

Hi all, I am working on a project using technologies I’ve never worked with before and I was wondering if you guys could help me out.

I am currently working on a project to monitor network traffic using Zeek. The end product is a dashboard which will show alerts based off of Zeek notifications. The requirements state that this needs to be done in Kubernetes, so I will be using Minikube to host the cluster.

Within this cluster, I have a singular pod which should contain multiple containers. Each container should contain one tool. Starting with the first container, we need Zeek which will monitor the network traffic and produce logs. In another container, we will have MariaDB; a database where we will store the log data from Zeek. In another container, we will need to hold the dashboard files (.dart files). For the dashboard, we will be using Flutter.

That should be 3 separate containers within our singular pod. If we wanted to get log data from Zeek to MariaDB and the container for our dashboard, what would be the best way to go about this?

So far, I have searched and found potential solutions for communication between containers…

• Using localhost:ports
  • Using a shared volume (persistent volume)

Any links/resources I can see for example would be helpful please.

Cluster information:

Kubernetes version:
Host OS: Linux, Ubuntu 22.04

yaml file:

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
metadata:
name: zeek-mariadb-pod
spec:
volumes: # Testing possible shared volume option

• name: shared-data
    persistentVolumeClaim:
    claimName: shared-data-pvc

containers:

• name: zeek-container
    image: testzeek # Custom zeek image
    imagePullPolicy: IfNotPresent
    volumeMounts:

mountPath: /zeek-logs
  • name: mariadb-container
    image: mariadb
    env:

• name: ROOT_PASSWORD
      value: mypassword
    • name: DATABASE
      value: /zeek_logs
      volumeMounts:
      mountPath: /zeek-logs

apiVersion: v1
kind: Pod
metadata: