Kernel pid for pod / container?

What is the equivalent of:

docker inspect -f '{{.State.Pid}}' <container id>

to get the pid of a Pod -if at all reasonable- or at least the pid of a container?

A pod is not a running process, so it does not have a PID.

What question are you really trying to solve? :slight_smile:

Thanks @thockin, good point. In fact I know a pod is not a process, that’s why I sad “or at least the pid of a container”. The reason is to debug it. When working with docker I really appreciated being able to “nsenter” into the process’s namespace with --net option so that I has all the tools installed on the host, but in the constraint of the network of the container. I find it very useful and effective.
Now that I’m studying kubernetes I’d like to use the same technique.

Pedantically, a container doesn’t have a PID either. What you see is the PID of the “root” process in that container.

In Kubernetes you can nsenter the netns of any of the member containers - they are all the same netns. We also have EphemeralContainers which seems to still be alpha.

Thanks again @thockin

ok, that’s what I meant

…mmh… you mean all containers share the same net…? that’s definitely some things I already noted to be studied deeper.

I have a pod that doesn’t reach the database (hosted on the host, not on kubernetes). After adding IP to my docker I realized it has /32 netmask… I would have liked to be able to use tools from the system (as opposed to “tools in the container”) to investigate IP, route and so on.

In pure docker I can nsenter the root process and use “Ip addr ls”: is there an equivalent in kubernetes?

you mean all containers share the same net…? that’s definitely some things I already noted to be studied deeper.

That’s right. At least in all of the runtime implementations I know of. :slight_smile:

I would have liked to be able to use tools from the system (as opposed to “tools in the container”) to investigate IP, route and so on.