Memory error with my microK8s single node

Dear,

I installed microk8s on a supercomputer and I kept having memory errors.
The use-case for this k8s is a jupyterhub server.

The main node issue warnings like this :
Warning ImageGCFailed 6m30s kubelet failed to garbage collect required amount of images. Wanted to free 255164889497 bytes, but freed 317164 bytes

until the moment where we reach the eviction threshold.

Warning EvictionThresholdMet 19m (x5 over 20m) kubelet Attempting to reclaim ephemeral-storage

Restarting microk8s and docker system prune help eventually but I am not sure what to do to fix it on the long-term.

Thanks for your help.
(very beginner here)
Marine

This particular error seems to point to storage issue and not memory. Where the kubelet have to clean up images (garbage collection) to make room.
MicroK8s keep most of its data in /var/snap/microk8s/...

Thanks for your answer. I am not sure to see the difference between storage issue against memory issue.
I was thinking the storage issue is due to a lack of memory.
Are you meaning it would be a lack of permission making impossible to clean the data in /var/snap/microk8s ?
thanks

I will first check if there is enough space on /var.

Apologies if I explain something you already know, but since you do state that you’re a very beginner, I’ll try to explain thoroughly.

First, the difference between memory and storage issues:

• a memory issue is related to RAM and how much processes in containers try to use. For example, if you set a memory limit of 1 GiB for a container, that had a process running that grew much larger than that.
  • a storage issue is about disk space, and the ephemeral-storage message makes it clear that is what is happening here.