Portainer Namespace Issue

Hi all, I am new to the forum. I wonder if I can get some help please? I am quite new to kubernetes and have installed microk8s on a one node cluster as a test. I have enabled portainer with “microk8s.kubectl enable portainer” and everything pre-requisite necessary by following this guide https://www.portainer.io/blog/how-to-deploy-portainer-on-microk8s. I am able to open portainer and have created the user and its automatically connected the local environment. The problem is whenever I try to click anything in Portainer, like “Applications”, “Helm”, “Volumes” etc I get an error saying “unable to retrieve namespaces”. Could I get some help on this at all please?

I am having the same issue on a 3-node cluster. Ubuntu 22.04, microk8s 1.24

Help is appreciated!

I have tried to replicate this issue but cannot…

Steps i took:

1. Deployed a brand new Ubuntu 22.04 VM
  2. Logged in as root
  3. Ran the command “snap install microk8s --classic --channel=1.24”
  4. waited a few minutes, then ran the command “microk8s enable dns metrics-server rbac hostpath-storage”
  5. waited a few minutes, then ran the command “microk8s enable community”
  6. then ran the command “microk8s enable portainer”
  7. ran the command “microk8s kubectl get service -n portainer” to check all is well, and my nodeport is published
  8. opened the portainer UI, set the password, and clicked “get started”
  9. navigate around… no access issues at all

So can you please post the steps you went through to get the issue ?

Neil@Portainer.io

all i can assume is that the portainer service account did not get created for some reason (it should, as part of the deployment)… do a microk8s kubectl get serviceaccounts -n portainer and make sure the account was created by the install script…

1 Like

Hi, I checked the accounts, result:

NAME SECRETS AGE
default 0 47h
portainer-sa-clusteradmin 0 47h