Multi-node k8s cluster and elasticity on localhost

A k8s newbie here. I’d read-around a bit about k8s several months back without much hands-on work, but trying to pickup where I left. I’m in the need of an offline learning environment, with an objective to learn also about multi-node clusters. Based on a bit of hurried reading around, I understand that while:

• Minikube distribution enables one to run a 1-node k8s cluster on localhost,
  • MicroK8s distribution enables one to run a k8s cluster on localhost too, but potentially with multiple-nodes

It is the perceived claim about support of multiple-nodes in a k8s cluster that I am not so sure that I understood correctly. Even it is correct what all can be done with such a cluster, and whether it supports the notion of elasticity or not ?

At the microk8s.io website, I see statements that cause those doubts:

1. Single node Kubernetes done right”
  2. “It’s not elastic, but it is on rails”
  3. While I (think I) understand that microk8s enables ones to use a local development environment, offline – the k8s CLI appear to be prefixed with “microk8s.”. Is that a replacement of the kubectl CLI ? Does it mean that moving to k8s on Cloud will need some re-familiarization of another CLI ?

Thanks for bearing with my newbie questions.

I don’t know about microk8s, but You can also consider using VMs and kubeadm.

1 Like

Hi @Banibrata_Dutta

MicroK8s gives you a certified single node Kubernetes cluster. The single node is your localhost.

There are a few points we need to clarify.

• MicroK8s ships with the upstream kubectl. kubectl is available namespaced under microk8s.kubectl. If you move to a cloud you should have exactly the same CLI experience.
  • Elasticity is supported at the level of the deployments. You can have your deployments scale by adding more pods. However, since you have a single node all pods will be scheduled to that single node.